The only thing I hate about Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari is that I have to wait a week for each episode. Goddammit.

The story starts off in a more-or-less familiar way of a regular gamer/otaku getting sucked into another world, which operates in a similar way to an MMO game world; similar mechanics and stuff, involving grinding levels and whatnot. The thing is, the protagonist Naofumi Iwatami is summoned into this alternate world as, you guessed it, the Shield Hero, who’s supposed to be one of the four main heroes with the power to save the world from the enemy Waves [extremely powerful monsters showing up in waves to destroy the world]. Unfortunately, he’s unable to equip an actual weapon as they’re incompatible with his shield, and is stuck with the two possibilities of either fighting the wild creatures with his bare hands, or relying on his party members for damage.

Within a day though, the Shield Hero has become the object of disgrace in the entire kingdom, due to the deceitful rape accusations brought forth by his party member Myne [a hot chica who’s cancer… learn something from goddess Chika ffs]. Cast out by his fellow heroes and society and unable to fight monsters because of his shield, he has to carve out his own future, however he can. He’s been pushed to the point where he has to have slaves in his party, to actually make progress.

maxresdefault

This is the moment Naofumi knew…he fucked up. Somehow.

I haven’t watched many isekai anime; in fact the only good one I’ve seen until now has been No S2 No Life So Fuck My Life. But boy, am I glad to see a new anime challenge the traditional isekai tropes… Naofumi the protagonist, as the vilified Hero is brilliantly written, and all the bs he has to put up with is something one can empathize with, especially with the current social situation being as it is. What with the whole #metoo movementĀ which has now turned into a witch hunt and outrage culture, Tate no Yuusha really drives home the point. The way he acts is quite probably the way I myself would, if I was put in an identical position.

Art style seems mainstream fare for me, although that in no way demeans it; but I wouldn’t say it’s god-tier either. Same with the background music, in my opinion. They are both serviceable, but it’s no One Punch Man or Mob Psycho 100 where we’re watching the show both for the antics of the characters AND the incredible art style.

I’m loving how the relationship has been developing between Naofumi and his “slave” Raphthalia at present; can’t wait to see what the anime does with it. Yeah, this anime has slavery in it. Some fodder material for SJWs who enjoy talking shit without grasping the full facts. I hope there is more controversy over the show, cuz controversy would in turn drive up the anime’s popularity, and I’d love for Tate no Yuusha to be watched even more.

I’m actively looking forward to how the anime develops in the coming episodes.

RATING : 9.6/10

PROS :
– well-made characters
– pacing
– cool OP
– underdog protagonist

CONS :
– art style isn’t anything special

 

Leave a comment